Busy Little Phishing Botnet
by Jose NazarioToday it’s an American Express phish. In the past few weeks it’s been JPMorgan Chase, Bank of America, CitiGroup, Colonial Bank, and many others. All of them are using fast flux hosting techniques on the same hosts. I don’t know the name of this botnet (either the malcode or the coloquial name) but it sure is busy. Here’s a list of domain names they have been using for their activities (gathered using passive DNS techniques, most of them are now suspended domains):
- dir10.cz
- adobeflasplayer10.com
- isapid.cz
- es-pos1.es
- es-pos0.es
- frankiezfunz.com
- sofia16-online18.com
- es-pos3.es
- idsrv1.es
- serverdemobank.com
- idsrv2.es
- id-rt01.cz
- aktien-news-online24.com
- id-rt04.cz
- flashplayercolonial.com
- srv-3id.cz
- clrtemp.cz
- file033.cz
- file11.cz
- sofia16-online24.com
- ref-id.es
- idsrv4.es
- player10update.com
- bankamericademo.com
- dir017.cz
- idrtd.cz
- 0177.es
- id-ref.cz
- serversupdates.com
- srv-1id.cz
- 72.in-addr.arpa
- id0.cz
- bmspeedlab.org
- id-rt03.cz
- democolonialbank.com
- refid73.es
- refid70.es
- identify-3.cz
- colonialshow.com
- demobankofamerica.com
- cs03.cz
- isapi10.cz
- es-pos2.es
- id-ref.be
- 0104.es
- idsrv10.es
- bumospo.com
- hawaiiantel.net
- isdir.cz
- cs07.cz
- cs01.cz
- identify-4.cz
- ptil.cz
- sofia18-online.com
- idsrv11.es
- installadobeplayer.com
- es-pos7.es
- colonialdemo.com
- bmspeedlab.com
- id-rt02.cz
- srv-4id.cz
- fasttrk.cz
- bumotor.org
- srv-7id.cz
- bumotor.net
- identify-1.cz
- bumospe.tk
- onlineserverdownload.com
- clasmatessup.com
- everettzfunz.com
- file17.cz
- demoversions10.com
- tempdir.cz
- demoservers1.com
Unlike some other fast flux users, these guys seem to go to different gTLDs as needed:
- 1 — be
- 23 — com
- 29 — cz
- 15 — es
- 2 — net
- 2 — org
- 1 — tk
The hosts have largely been the same over this time so you can track them using passive DNS to discover their new names. Almost all of these are detected using standard anti-phishing tools.
testing comment system :)